Need help finding the right tutor?

When do you want to start?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Charlene tutors in Chesapeake, VA

Charlene W.

Private tutor in Chesapeake, VA


William and Mary - B.A. 1988 , English , (3.0 G.P.A. in English, 2.7 overall) William and Mary - M.A.Ed., 1990 (3.8 G.P.A.) Secondary English Education I have taken college courses throughout the years to update my teaching credentials including Teaching of Reading (O.D.U.) , Independent Study (Norfolk State University), Anatomy and Physiology with Lab, Web Design, Windows, Business Management, Nutrition, and Meteorology for Teachers with Lab (TCC). I have received training in Classical teaching instruction every summer for the last eight summers as part of my preparation to work during the school year.


Experiences: I taught in Portsmouth Public Schools for 5 1/2 years. I also substitute taught and taught summer school in Isle of Wight County, Chesapeake, and Newport News. I have homeschooled my five children for the last 16 years in elementary, middle school, and high school. I helped tutor my oldest in college last year. While I taught high school, I tutored several middle school students. I have been a tutor for a classical homeschool group for the last 8 years, tutoring Algebra 1/2, Algebra I, Writing, American Literature, Short Stories, American History, Team Policy Debate, Current Events, Economics, Shakespeare, Government, Physical Science, Logic, and Latin I and II. I enjoy working with people and helping them to succeed. I like to share my love of learning with others, and help them not only to succeed, but to enjoy what they are doing.


Weekdays after 4PM, Saturday after 10AM

Can Meet

Up to 45 minutes away for a flat fee, Up to 30 minutes away for a flat fee, Up to 15 minutes away for no additional charge


I enjoy playing competitive tennis and watching my sons play competitive soccer. Reading mystery novels, quilting, crocheting, and singing are other hobbies of mine. I sing background vocals for our praise band at church. I enjoy working with young people, and I believe that everyone can learn.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor


Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!